Holbrook's most notable Route 66 landmark is the Wigwam Motel, the sixth of seven teepee-themed lodges built across the country. But the town has other gems of the Route 66 era from 1926 to 1978 when Interstate 40 replaced the Mother Road.
Holbrook has historic, unrestored stone buildings south of the railroad depot, a filling station (see below) hidden in the weeds and the Plainsman coffee shop. The closed restaurant occupied a midcentury modern building that doesn't match its frontiersman theme.
Chester Lewis built the Wigwam Motel in 1950 after visiting Cave City, Ky., where architect Frank Redford built the original in 1938. The Wigwam had radios that charged guests a dime to connect to the airwaves.
Lewis paid that revenue to Redford in exchange for the rights to the Wigwam concept. Lewis sold the Wigwam in the 1970s but his family bought it back in 1988 after his death. The other remaining Wigwam motels are in Cave City and San Bernadino, Calif.
Joe & Aggies's Cafe has been serving locals and travelers since 1943 in a pink building at the center to town. But it's not clear if the cafe is still in business. Their phone is disconnected.
The 1956 Globetrotter Lodge on Route 66 originally was the Sun n' Sand motel. The Globetrotter was a popular independent motel until recently but is now closed. Several other vintage motels in Holbrook have given way to chain motels near Interstate 40.
Go west to Joseph City: